In anticipation of NCECA in Philadelphia, I’ve been looking up interesting museums in the area.  Whenever I travel, I look up interesting museums on Roadside America, a repository of goofy roadside attractions all over the US.  All kinds of amazing places like Dr. Evermor’s Forevertron near Baraboo, WI or the Future Birthplace of James T. Kirk in Riverside, IA.

Philadelphia has some great ones that I am just itching to see!  The Insectarium, the Saint in a Glass Coffin, the Museum of Mourning Art, and the Mummer’s Museum.  The one that’s highest on my list is the Chemical Heritage Museum and the Mutter Museum which has a plaster cast of conjoined twins, a giant colon, Grover Cleveland’s tumor, John WilkesBoothe’s thorax, a collection of swallowed items that one doctor removed non-surgically, and a soap woman!  I know we’re spending most of our time at the conference (which I am excited about too, by the way) but I definitely want to take some time to myself to explore the gems that Philly has to offer.

